Homage to Sylvia Plath

20120508-181502.jpg
I have long been a fan of Sylvia Plath’s poetry; the Bell Jar resonated with me at a particular time in my life. And yes the tragedy of her short life during which she produced a significant body of work touches and impresses me in equal measure.

Today my friend took me to Heptonstall to visit her final resting place ; the grave is lost amongst so many others. And still so many have found there way to pay personal homage. A pot of pens on the grave is visible between the dandelions in full flower. I did not somehow feel the ancient biro in my bag was appropriate although a glance at those already laid showed others did not share my concern.

20120508-182810.jpg
The neglect saddened me somehow but is the dandelion intertwined mass representative of a complex soul simultaneously at home and out of sync with the bleak landscape I wondered?

1 Comment

Filed under Musings of a Contemporary Spinster

One response to “Homage to Sylvia Plath

  1. some years ago women sickened by he way Sylvia had been treated by her husband Ted Hughes and her wishes not to buried in the Yorkshire cold rubbed out the name, Hughes leaving her name, Sylvia Plath.
    RIP.

Leave a Reply

